Welcome to Neutrino Physics
at Stanford University

dancing neutrinos

Grad student rotations available!

Over the last 15 years our group has been central to many developments in the field of neutrino physics. Click here for more of our group history

We are presently operating the EXO-200 double-beta decay experiment at the WIPP underground site in southern New Mexico. This is one of the largest and more sophisticated experiments presently searching for neutrinoless double beta decay. The discovery of such a decay would establish the existence of 2-component Majorana Fermions (mundane Fermions, like the electron, are 4-component Dirac particles), demonstrate the violation of the lepton number and, possibly, establish the neutrino mass scale. A short article in Physics World explains the search for neutrinoless double beta decay.

Within the broader EXO program we are developing new methods to extend the sensitivity of a future multi-ton experiment, nEXO. This work has two major divisions, the first involves the extraction and identification (tagging) of the Ba atom produced in the double-beta decay of Xe using AMO techniques. The second is developing and testing new components and technologies for the nEXO detector to improve the charge and light readout; this includes work with silicon photomultipliers and modular pads for charge readout. A new setup has just been built to characterize the performance of such devices in Liquid Xenon.

We have started a new program to investigate the nature of gravity at length scales near 1 micron. This work uses ~5 micron diameter silica spheres, which are optically trapped and manipulated in vacuum using lasers. Monitoring the motion of these spheres as they are positioned near gravitational attractors allows us to search for new forces that may appear at micron distances.

We also have a program to develop novel radiation detectors for application to science, homeland security and medical physics.

We have openings for new graduate students in (almost) all of the projects above.

People

Name Position Office Phone E-mail
Giorgio Gratta Professor Varian 146 (650) 725-6509 gratta@stanford.edu
Marcia Keating Adm. Assistant Varian 148 (650) 725-2344 mkeating@stanford.edu
Ralph DeVoe Consulting Professor Varian 128B (650) 723-6342 rgdevoe@stanford.edu
Thomas Brunner Postdoc Varian 128A (650) 723-4612 tbrunner@stanford.edu
David Moore Postdoc Varian 128B (650) 723-6342 dcmoore@stanford.edu
Igor Ostrovskiy Postdoc Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 ostrov@stanford.edu
Alexis Schubert Postdoc Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 alexis4@stanford.edu
Manuel Weber Postdoc Varian 128A (650) 723-4612 maweber@stanford.edu
Daniel Fudenberg Graduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 dfudenb@stanford.edu
Elton Ho Graduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 eltonho@stanford.edu
Mike Jewell Graduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 mjjewell@stanford.edu
Scott Kravitz Graduate Student Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 skravitz@stanford.edu
Noah Kurinsky Graduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 kurinsky@stanford.edu
Alex Rider Graduate Student Varian 134 (650) 723-7828 arider@stanford.edu
Brandon Taylor Buscaino Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 buscaino@stanford.edu
Jason Chaves Undergraduate Student Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 jchaves@stanford.edu
Leonard Lupin-Jimenez Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 lupify@stanford.edu
Marie Lu Undergraduate Student marielu@stanford.edu
Milad Malek Undergraduate Student Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 m3malek@stanford.edu
Qingyang Xu Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 youngxu@stanford.edu
Sungyeon Yang Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 syang61@stanford.edu

Group mailing list : grattagroup@lists.stanford.edu

Group Wiki

Labs

Name Room Phone
Liquid Xe Lab Varian 022 (650) 725-3489
Laser Lab Varian 024 (650) 725-3489
RIS lab Varian 034 (650) 721-6340
Gravity Lab Varian 127/153 (650) 725-6652
General Lab Varian 161 (650) 723-7840
Computer Varian 167 (650) 725-2772
Gas Barium Tagging Area HEPL ES III (650) 497-2323
EXO Clean room HEPL ES III (650) 492-5136

Site maintenance: Dan Fudenberg.
Design: Giulio Gratta
Last modified: October 2014