Welcome to Neutrino Physics
at Stanford University

dancing neutrinos

Projects

Our Sponsors

Grad student rotations available!

Over the last 15 years our group has been central to many developments in the field of neutrino physics. Click here for more of our group history

We are presently operating the EXO-200 double-beta decay experiment at the WIPP underground site in southern New Mexico. This is one of the largest and more sophisticated experiments presently searching for neutrinoless double beta decay. The discovery of such a decay would establish the existence of 2-component Majorana Fermions (mundane Fermions, like the electron, are 4-component Dirac particles), demonstrate the violation of the lepton number and, possibly, establish the neutrino mass scale. A short article in Physics World explains the search for neutrinoless double beta decay.

Within the broader EXO program we are developing new methods to extend the sensitivity of a future multi-ton experiment, nEXO. This work has two major divisions, the first involves the extraction and identification (tagging) of the Ba atom produced in the double-beta decay of Xe using AMO techniques. The second is developing and testing new components and technologies for the nEXO detector to improve the charge and light readout; this includes work with silicon photomultipliers and modular pads for charge readout. A new setup has just been built to characterize the performance of such devices in Liquid Xenon.

We have started a new program to investigate the nature of gravity at length scales near 1 micron. This work uses ~5 micron diameter silica spheres, which are optically trapped and manipulated in vacuum using lasers. Monitoring the motion of these spheres as they are positioned near gravitational attractors allows us to search for new forces that may appear at micron distances.

We also have a program to develop novel radiation detectors for application to science, homeland security and medical physics.

We have openings for new graduate students in (almost) all of the projects above.

People

Name Position Office Phone E-mail
Giorgio Gratta Professor Varian 146 (650) 725-6509 gratta@stanford.edu
SLAC office Bldg 40, Rm 210A (650) 926-2698
Marcia Keating Adm. Assistant Varian 148 (650) 725-2344 mkeating@stanford.edu
Ralph DeVoe Consulting Professor Varian 128B (650) 723-6342 rgdevoe@stanford.edu
Akio Kawasaki Postdoc Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 akiok@stanford.edu
Brian Lenardo Postdoc Varian 132 (650) 725-2946 blenardo@stanford.edu
Gaosong Li Postdoc Varian 128B (650) 723-6342 ligs@stanford.edu
Manuel Weber Postdoc Varian 128A (650) 723-4612 maweber@stanford.edu
Shuoxing Wu Postdoc Varian 132 (650) 725-2946 sxwu@stanford.edu
Chas Blakemore Graduate Student Varian 134 (650) 723-7828 cblakemore@stanford.edu
Jacopo Dalmasson Graduate Student Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 jdalmass@stanford.edu
Mike Jewell Graduate Student Varian 128A (650) 723-4612 mjjewell@stanford.edu
Alex Rider Graduate Student Varian 134 (650) 723-7828 arider@stanford.edu
Manisha Laxmi Patel Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 manisha2@stanford.edu
Sandip Roy Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 sandip@stanford.edu
Brandon Sandoval Undergraduate Student Varian 132 (650) 723-2946 bransand@stanford.edu
FengPeng An Visitor from ECUST Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 anfp@ihep.ac.cn
Kevin Wells Visitor from the theory group at Stanford Varian 136 (650) 725-2342 kcwells@stanford.edu

Group mailing list : grattagroup@lists.stanford.edu

Group Wiki

Completed Projects

Group Photos

Alumni

Publications

Theses

History

Site maintenance: Jacopo Dalmasson.
Design: Giulio Gratta